Interregional groups

Interregional groups are platforms which bring together members and alternate members of the European Committee of the Regions on a voluntary basis. They promote the exchange of views and therefore the emergence of ideas likely to enrich cooperation between local and regional authorities in the Member States and beyond.

According to the Rules of Procedure, an interregional group may be formed by at least ten full members of the European Committee of the Regions belonging to:

• at least four national delegations, or
• a group of regions  working together on the basis of an agreement to promote cross-border cooperation.

Since the entry into force of the decision on Interregional groups on 13 February 2007, the Bureau has approved the establishment of the following groups:

Some Interregional groups (Adriatic-Ionian, Alpine Macroregion, Baltic sea regions, Danube) are built against a related Macro-regional strategy. A Macro-regional strategy is a framework endorsed by the European Council to enhance economic, social and territorial cohesion in a specific geographical area relating to Member States and third countries located in the same geographical area (macro-regions).​